Business Wire Spotlight: Meet Greg Blazina

Greg_Blazina

Greg Blazina , Regional Manager, Eastern Canada, Business Wire


Canada employee spotlight Q&A – Greg Blazina

Where are you from?
Born and raised in Toronto

What is your background? Did you ever work for a newswire or similar type of company? If so, what was your role at that company and how long have you been working in the industry?
I have worked in the newswire and content distribution industry for 13 years. I started in the newsroom and then moved to newsroom supervisor before eventually managing accounts.

When did you start working for Business Wire and have you had any other roles at Business Wire?  If so, what were your previous positions?
I joined Business Wire in April of 2011 as an Account Executive with a focus on the Toronto market.  At the start of 2013, I was promoted to Regional Manager, overseeing Business Wire clients in Eastern Canada.

So what do you do for Business Wire? Please sum up your role and responsibilities.
I’m responsible for ensuring Business Wire continues to grow throughout Eastern Canada; and I support our local newsroom and media relations teams.  In addition, I continue to monitor the impact of technical, social and behavioral changes upon news consumption.

What do you enjoy about your job?
Being involved with Canada marketing initiatives, and helping companies achieve their communication goals are, without a doubt, my favorite part of the job. Business Wire’s news and content distribution methods have made a big difference for so many of our customers.

What do you like about Business Wire?
What I really like about Business Wire is our open and honest approach to everything. From working with clients to internal projects, everyone is very passionate about the company, industry and doing things the right way.

What are some key achievements/contributions you have had at BW?
I’m proud to have helped many companies find an efficient, effective method to disseminate their news and raise visibility of created content. This has resulted in continued growth for Business Wire in the Canadian market since I started three years ago.

Please give a brief summary of what you hope to accomplish for your department and BW.
Business Wire has very unique offerings that enable our clients to meet a wide range of communication goals – from disclosure to product launches, we provide a complete distribution solution. I want to continue helping companies understand how to apply these features to best serve the Canadian market.

Tell us about yourself. (Your background, education, interests, hobbies, music, books, pets, family, etc.)
My wife and 3 kids (Jordyn, Lukas and Rachel) provide me with a very fulllife! Aside from that, I’m a huge hockey fan, a long-time Detroit Red Wings fan. Any book that makes me think and learn about life is also of interest to me. While it is definitely hard for me to narrow my favorite music groups down, I grew up listening to Green Day, Bush and Blink 182 before eventually falling love with the classics — Bob Dylan, AC/DC, Jimi Hendrix. Today I listen to a wider variety of music.

What drives you to do what you do every day at Business Wire?
 I believe in what we do, and how we do it.

What is your favorite thing about living in Canada?
Celebrating all four seasons. I enjoy the sun and the snow, but most of all, I love the seasons in between.

Please give us some comments about the Canadian market and what BW does that makes us a great fit in that market.
Business Wire has been distributing news for Canadian businesses for decades.  And why not? We continue to provide so much for Canadian businesses. Our unique distribution agreements and content spotlight services provide something most newswire veterans never dreamed would be possible. Not only is Business Wire’s distribution impressive, but the monitoring reports are outstanding.

What are some top reasons why you would recommend Business Wire to Canadian companies?
Business Wire is an exceptional company and our Canadian office is no different. We have an outstanding team and provide a strong ROI-Based news and content distribution service.

Leave a Reply

