Business Wire Spotlight: Meet Justine Fifield

In today’s employee spotlight, we interviewed Justine Fifield, an editor from our Canadian office, asking her to share more about herself, her job and her vision for Business Wire.

JustineJustine, it is wonderful to speak with you!  Where are you from?
Born and raised in Toronto, Canada

When did you start working for Business Wire?
I started just a few months ago in February of 2014, and am the newest member of the team here in Toronto

What is your background?
Academically, I have a background in European History and English Literature, both of which I studied at the University of Guelph. Professionally, I have had much experience in customer service and have worked as an editor for a number of years before joining Business Wire.

What do you do at Business Wire?
I work as a Newsroom Editor for Business Wire, preparing press releases for dissemination and working with clients to ensure that their releases hit their desired media points.

What do you enjoy about your job?
I enjoy the careful precision that working as an editor demands, as well as getting to interact with clients on a daily basis to help ensure that their experience with Business Wire is a both a smooth and positive one. The amount of customer service that is tied to the editorial position can be very rewarding, as clients are often very happy with the level of service that we provide as a company.

What do you like about Business Wire?
We’re a small team here in Toronto, but this makes for a very tight-knit, positive and supportive environment that I look forward to coming to every day. It’s also a great feeling to be a part of an industry leading company such as Business Wire, and to know that products and services we offer are second to none.

Tell us about yourself!
In the past year, I have finished up my undergraduate degree at the University of Guelph, where I studied European History and English Lit – so yes, I love all things written and always seem to have my nose in a book.
 
I also play piano and guitar, and am hoping to try my hand at violin with some lessons coming up in the fall. Like any good Italian I love to eat, and trying new restaurants is a favourite pastime of mine, especially with Toronto’s blossoming restaurant scene. I enjoy learning new things and finding new ways to challenge myself, and love to spend time with friends and family whenever I can.

What drives you to do what you do every day at Business Wire?
For me, the best motivator in any position is always the people I work with. When I am surrounded by a highly positive, professional, supportive and passionate team such as the one at Business Wire, I feel inspired to put my best foot forward and grow professionally as an individual within a larger team.

What is your favorite thing about living in Canada?
I’ve lived in Canada all my life, and though I could do without the long, frigid winters, I can’t imagine living anywhere else. Canada is home to some amazing people and carries its own unique culture, something I see every day in Toronto. If you haven’t been to visit, you really should!

Leave a Reply

